Friday, March 19, 2010

MIT’s Open Access Policy, One Year Later

In today's press release MIT reported that over 850 articles have been added to MIT's digital repository, DSPACE@MIT, a year after MIT faculty voted to adopt an open access policy to their scholarly articles:
Publishers who are fully supporting the MIT Policy include:

* American Economic Association
* American Institute of Physics
* American Mathematical Society
* American Meteorological Society
* American Physical Society
* American Vacuum Society
* Beilstein-Institut
* BioMed Central
* Hindawi Publishing
* The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
* The Optical Society of America (OSA)
* Public Library of Science (PLoS)
* Rockefeller University Press
* Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
* University of California Press

Many of these publishers allow the MIT Libraries to capture copies of the final published PDF for deposit, so that authors do not need to take any action in order to have their articles openly accessible.

“We are learning that many other publishers are also friendly to the policy as we continue our conversations, and we expect this list to grow over time,” said Ellen Duranceau, MIT Libraries’ program manager for scholarly publishing and licensing. “We want to thank all of the publishers who have cooperated with us thus far, and we look forward to collaborating with others as we move forward.”

The MIT Libraries, with the guidance of the Faculty Committee on the Library System, continue to work with MIT faculty to help further the policy’s goal of broadening access to MIT’s research and scholarship.

No comments: