Friday, March 30, 2007

MediaCommons: A Project of the Institute for the Future of the Book (Update)

A multi-nodal scholarly communication network, MediaCommons is described as:
a network in which scholars and students, as well as other interested members of the public, can help to shift the focus of scholarship back to the circulation of discourse. This network will be multi-nodal, providing access to a wide range of intellectual writing and media production, including forms such as blogs, wikis, and journals, as well as digitally networked scholarly monographs.

Founding editors, Kathleen Fitzpatrick and Avi Santo, have recently assembled an Editorial Board:

Tim Anderson, Denison University
Jeremy Butler, University of Alabama
Richard Edwards, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Radhika Gajjala, Bowling Green State University
Chris Keathley, Middlebury College
Kari Kraus, Zotero Project: Center for History and New Media
Tara McPherson, University of Southern California
Jason Mittell, Middlebury College
Lisa Nakamura, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Clancy Ratliff, East Carolina University
Judd Ruggill, University of Arizona
Chuck Tryon, Fayetteville State University

No comments: